Space calendar 2020: Rocket launches, sky events, missions & more!

LAST UPDATED Sept. 22: These dates are subject to change, and will be updated throughout the year as firmer dates arise. Please DO NOT schedule travel based on a date you see here. Launch dates collected from NASA, ESA, Roscosmos, Spaceflight Now and others.
Watch NASA webcasts and other live launch coverage on our “Watch Live” page, and see our night sky webcasts here. Find out what’s up in the night sky this month with our visible planets guide and skywatching forecast.


Wondering what happened today in space history? Check out our “On This Day in Space” video show here!
Sept. 24: Blue Origin plans to launch its New Shepard rocket on the NS-13 mission. It will lift off from the company’s West Texas launch site at 10 a.m. local time (11 a.m. EDT; 1500 GMT). This will be the 13th flight of Blue Origin’s reusable New Shepard rocket and the seventh flight for this vehicle. The NS-13 mission will fly 12 commercial payloads, including the Deorbit, Descent, and Landing Sensor Demonstration in partnership with NASA’s Space Technology Mission Directorate under a Tipping Point partnership.
Sept. 26: A United Launch Alliance Delta IV Heavy rocket will launch a classified spy satellite for the U.S. National Reconnaissance Office. The mission, titled NROL-44, will lift off from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida, at 12:14 a.m. EDT (0414 GMT). Watch it live
Sept. 27: A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket is expected to launch the 12th batch of approximately 60 operational satellites for the company’s Starlink broadband network in a mission designated Starlink 12. It will lift off from Space Launch Complex 40 at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida, at 10:43 a.m. EDT (1443 GMT). Watch it live
Sept. 28: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch three Gonets M communications satellites from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in Russia, at 7:20 a.m. EDT (1120 GMT).
Sept. 29: Northrop Grumman’s Cygnus NG-14 cargo spacecraft will launch to the International Space Station on an Antares rocket. It will lift off from NASA’s Wallops Flight Facility in Virginia, at 10:26 p.m. EDT (0226 GMT on Sept. 30). It will arrive at the space station on Oct. 3 at 5:15 a.m. EDT (0915 GMT). Watch it live
Sept. 30: A SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket will launch the U.S. Air Force’s fourth third-generation navigation satellite, designated GPS 3 SV04, for the Global Positioning System. It will lift off from Cape Canaveral Air Force Station in Florida, in a 4-hour launch window that opens at 9:55 p.m. EDT (0155 GMT on Oct. 1). Watch it live
Also scheduled to launch in September (from Spaceflight Now):
Oct. 1: The full moon of October, known as the “Hunter’s Moon,” occurs at 5:05 p.m. EDT (2105 GMT).


Oct. 2: The waning, gibbous moon will make a close approach to the Red Planet in the early morning sky. It will be in conjunction with Mars at 11:25 a.m. EDT (0325 GMT).


Oct. 4-10: World Space Week
Oct. 7-8: The Draconid meteor shower peaks.
Oct. 13: Mars is at opposition, which means it’s bigger and brighter than any other time of year. Look for the glowing Red Planet above the eastern horizon after sunset.


Oct. 14: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch the crewed Soyuz MS-17 spacecraft to the International Space Station with members of the Expedition 65 crew: NASA astronaut Kate Rubins and Russian cosmonauts Sergey Ryzhikov and Sergey Kud-Sverchkov. It will lift off from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, at 1:45 a.m. EDT (0545 GMT). Watch it live
Oct. 16: New moon
Oct. 16: An Arianespace Soyuz rocket will launch the Falcon Eye 2 Earth-imaging satellite for the United Arab Emirates. It will lift off from the Guiana Space Center in French Guiana, at 9:33 p.m. EDT (0133 GMT on Oct. 17). Watch it live
Oct. 17: A Russian Soyuz rocket will launch a Glonass K navigation satellite from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome in Russia.
Oct. 21-22: The Orionid meteor shower peaks.
Oct. 22: Just a day before reaching first quarter phase, the moon will be in conjunction with Jupiter at 1:12 p.m. EDT (1712 GMT). That same day, it will be in conjunction with Saturn at 11:42 p.m. EDT (0324 GMT on Oct. 23). Look for the trio in the evening sky.


Oct. 23: …
OBD2 Diagnostic Tool